Review: Singin’ In the Rain (1952)

My whole day has been building up to this moment.  Our final Gene Kelly movie review.

I’ve been waiting for a while now to have a reason to review this next movie.  It is one of my favorites.  Every time I watch this movie, I can’t help but be happy.

Singin’ In the Rain was directed by Stanley Donen and Gene Kelly.  It was released in 1952 and is considered one of the best movie musicals ever and showcases one of the most memorable and iconic scenes in film history.

Don Lockwood (Kelly) is a silent film star who worked hard to get to where he is with his partner Cosmo (Donald O’Connor) by his side the whole time.  When the studios start to transition into talking pictures, Don and his fellow costar, the annoying and clueless Lina Lamont (Jean Hagan) find themselves in trouble.

I don’t think I need to go into any detail about how amazing Gene Kelly was in this movie.  He helped create such an amazing film that has touched and brought so much joy to people around the world even to this day.

I couldn’t believe that Debbie Reynolds was in this!  It was a shock because I never saw her when she was younger.  She was very entertaining, very fun to watch, and had great chemistry with Kelly and with O’Connor.

Speaking of Donald O’Connor, he is phenomenal as Cosmo.  He’s hilarious and charming and I wish I had a friend like him.  The one scene that I was quite impressed with was the “Make ‘Em Laugh” sequence where he is literally throwing himself around everywhere and doing back flips off of walls.  It’s unbelievable.  He won a Golden Globe for Best Actor in a musical/comedy.

Jean Hagan, however, steals the show as the relentless Lina Lamont.  She is so great in this movie.  Her character is supposed to be a very beautiful looking silent film star with an ugly personality and an even uglier voice!  She was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress.

One of the things that I like about Singin’ In the Rain is that you really care about the characters.  They’re all likeable, except Lina.  Nobody likes Lina.  Another thing I love about this film is how funny it is.  Yeah, it’s from 1952, but the humor isn’t dated.  My 15-year-old sister loves this movie, and she typically wouldn’t watch any movies that were made before 1980.

Every musical number in this is memorable (to me) however the stand out is the “Singin’ In the Rain” number.  The story is that Kelly was extremely sick when he filmed this scene.  It only took one take and he went home to rest.  Just one take to create one of the most memorable moments in film.

I believe this movie is a must see for everyone.  If you really want to see Gene Kelly at his best, then watch Singin’ In the Rain!

2 thoughts on “Review: Singin’ In the Rain (1952)

Leave a Reply

